The Cat Lady

Game Info Player Reviews Screenshots Videos

Average Rating


Average based on 28 ratings




Rating by PadanFain posted on May 17, 2013 | edit | delete


A messy but interesting thing


Well…

A good game. Not excellent. The story drags too much in places and changes tone considerably every hour or so. So-much-so that it isn’t horror. It starts horror, turns into torture-porn, then melodrama, then… something. The final parasite is so over-the-top nonsensical that I can’t really say if it was intentional or not to have him be so out-of-place.


Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Rating by lucas posted on Dec 25, 2012 | edit | delete


Great production value for an indie


This is a story-driven game. There are not that many puzzles and most are fairly easy. I value story over puzzles and I knew this up front so it didn’t bother me. The quality of the artistic visuals is top-notch for an indie production. It seems the developers choose techniques that are easier to develop and require less manpower to do so:  a sideways screen scrolling gameplay and photo/graphic collage graphics. This means they could put their limited resources into real production value. And it shows! This is a game unlike any other i have played and it does not feel like a low-budget production at all. It has the best intro i have ever seen. Music is appropriate to the theme and atmosphere. Be warned that the mature theme is very dark, though.


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by axkreep posted on May 29, 2013 | edit | delete


Amazing


The Cat Lady is an excellent game with a good story line and character plot. The only thing I was not fond of was the choice of Susan’s backstory when in Doctor X’s office. I felt that some choices were unrealistic to an extent (yes I realize this is a game and reality hardly counts in games) but it felt off. Other than that, it’s a perfect game, and it’s good to feel like I can relate to how a character feels for once.


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by Antrax posted on Apr 25, 2013 | edit | delete


Revolutionary


The Cat Lady is an astounding game. I can’t recommend it to everyone, but those who are willing to experiment are likely to enjoy a unique experience.

The closest analogue I’ve played is “I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream”. TCL also features some gore, people in extreme situations and real-world interaction with metaphors come to life. However, there is more to TCL beyond mature subject matter and a lot of blood. Throughout the game, you make many choices. Not always obvious and not necessarily big ones - one of the first choices you make is choosing which of five identical candles to blow out. All of these choices have consequences which defy standard “game solving” logic. You can’t try to keep the high road when choices are so arbitrary. This technique goes a long way towards breaking the player out of the standard gaming mindset and forcing them to experience the story.
Obviously, this works best if you resist the temptation of saving constantly and reloading to see which choices are meaningful and which ultimately do nothing - there is a lot more suspense when you can’t help but second-guess yourself.

In other sections you are asked questions the protagonist would know the answer to, but you, the player, don’t. In a sense, the game lets you write Susan’s history however you see fit. This type of storytelling is fairly innovative and again served to draw me into the game.

Play-wise, the game might be a bit off-putting. It includes a lot of lengthy dialogue and cut scenes, and sometimes you can go as long as 20 minutes without any player interaction.
Interaction varies greatly. In some parts it’s standard adventure fare of using dialogue and inventory to overcome obstacles. In other parts it’s adventuring under heavy narcosis, within dream worlds that have their own sense. Other sections are about navigating a dialogue tree or even just participating in on-screen action by clicking on the keyboard.

The best part is the story. Not the plot itself, but its delivery. The game is directed very, very well. The use of lighting, music, sound and visuals is extremely effective. The horror sections had me clutching my laptop literally scared to further advance the plot. The creepy parts will feature in my nightmares in days to come. The game is sad or scary or exhilarating when it wants to, and it works. I don’t remember the last time I experienced a game so fully.

My only gripe is that you can’t save the game during dialogue or cut scenes. It’s inconvenient if your play sessions might end abruptly.

I don’t want to mince words. This is the type of game the less you know about, the better. Don’t read on the plot, don’t try to reverse engineer what’s going on as you play it and you’re guaranteed a strong experience. The game is not very long (around 5 hours) but it has a lot of replay value - I definitely want to explore what other choices might have led to.


Time Played: 5-10 hours

Rating by chamade posted on Apr 28, 2014 | edit | delete


Good story, intuitive gameplay


I finished this game recently and have to say that it was a very immersive experience. The main character is a woman who obviously battles with depression and went through some major losses in her life. That in itself sets it apart from manny adventure games which rely on humor relief to drag their escapist stories forward. Nothing wrong with that, but I welcome more mature subjects to the medium.
I liked that the puzzles/hotspots were put in service of the story. For the most part gameplay progressed fluidly without getting overwhelmed with inventory management, backtracking or overly complex puzzles.


Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Rating by Spelfie posted on Sep 22, 2013 | edit | delete


morbid, dark, and messes with your mind :)


Had a couple of times where I couldn’t figure out what I was supposed to do. The cut scenes and lengthy dialogs would have been better if I could pause save skip or back out of. But overall I liked this game. I recommended it to friends. The story was good, touching on the topic of suicide was a tricky thing but they handled it well. Once I got the hang of it, I actually enjoyed not using a mouse. The fact that I could control parts of her back story was kool. I think I may replay to see how the different choices influence the game and replay the end a few times to see the alternate endings.


Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Rating by zane posted on Dec 17, 2012 | edit | delete


Its a dark engrossing story with great presentation, but lacks in much of its execution.



Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Rating by Drolin posted on Dec 19, 2012 | edit | delete


Rating by Weis posted on Dec 29, 2012 | edit | delete


Rating by cygma posted on Sep 29, 2013 | edit | delete


Page 1 of 3    1 2 3 > 

Where To Buy

The Cat Lady

Get it DRM-free at

Get it at

Affiliate Links








{/exp:channel:entries}