Where To Buy
Resonance is available at:

Affiliate Links


Related Games
Games By xii games

Resonance

Average Rating


Average based on 49 ratings




Rating by Niclas posted on Sep 15, 2012


Polished old school style graphics with extremely high production values.


This game is a gem. Polished old school style graphics with extremely high production values. The story is pretty average but still keeps things interesting with turn of events later in the game, smart puzzles that are well integrated into the environment, and the use of long term and short term memory system that makes dialog puzzles interesting and fun. I loved the puzzle design. The puzzles were challenging but still made sense and they never felt unforgivingly hard, and they were very satisfying for once. There are only one or two puzzles that were a little bit hard, but never unfair. Also great voice acting as usual from games from Wadjet Eye. I would probably have given this game a higher score if the beginning of the game was not so slow, and if the story would have been a little bit more interesting. However, this is a game that every true Adventure Gamer should own and play. One of the best Adventure Games of 2012.


Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Rating by PadanFain posted on Jul 15, 2012


Not good, actually


So, Resonance arrives. Having heard nothing about the game before I saw it on AdventureGamers, I went in without any preformed opinion about the game.

Since the very beginning, something is off. The game starts at the end, and is mostly done in flashback. Which is usually a sign of bad storytelling (not always, but 90% of the time).

The puzzles for the first third of the game are extremely boring. That is mostly felt because of lack of any sort of pacing during that time. It picks up afterwards, but I was seriously considering leaving the game at the “hot-wire door to the lab” puzzle.

The puzzles are NOT helped by the EXTREMELY irritating and unwieldy interface. I order to do anything, one must go through 3-4 sliding screens. And I mean ANYTHING. Whether you want to talk, or access memories, use inventory or change characters. That gets seriously irritating after the first hour, and then you’re forced to constantly change characters, so it gets worse. I feel like the game would be 2 hours shorter if only I didn’t lose so much time with the interface.

The story is, for the most part, a predictable cliche. No surprises and interesting developments, until about two-thirds in the game, when a turnaround happens. And it dead perk me up a bit, so the final stretch of the game was ok to play. But beware, the identical “turnaround” has already been done in a certain PS3 adventure game from two and a half years ago. So no points for originality.

The most interesting part of the story (the secret brotherhood bent on controlling the world) has received the most minimal attention. Unfortunately.

The characters are (mostly) archetypal, so there’s nothing more to be said.

All of this makes for a game that is only somewhat interesting in the second half. And not much.

So please. Borrow it from a friend first, to try it out. My guess is, you won’t be buying it after.

V.


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by Antrax posted on Sep 6, 2012


An innovative old-school game


Resonance starts on a relative low note. After a brief section playing as Ed, the game suddenly displays a screen divided into four quadrants, showing different times. I picked one at random and had the story continue, figuring this was some sort of puzzle. That conclusion lasted just until I finished the next segment, at which point I was returned to the four-quadrant screen with three quadrants “left”. The idea was that you play briefly with each of the four characters, learning different game mechanism, before the game “really” begins, but the screen was counter-intuitive so I was unsure what I was choosing, at first.

However, that is the only point that lacks polish in the entire game. The game is incredibly tight - pretty much everything is well thought out and nothing happens for no reason. Playing through the game again, you discover a multitude of subtle clues, showing just how rich a tapestry the game weaves.
The plot is intriguing and very well written, despite the characters being mostly plot-advancing tools. That stands to reason, though - to further flesh out characters at the meticulous level of details of everything else in the game would quadruple the game in length, not a bad prospect, except it would mean we’d have to wait for 15 more years until it came out.
The strongest point, for me, was the puzzles. Unlike so many modern adventure games, this one doesn’t shy away from introducing challenging sections, without coddling the player via intrusive sidekicks spouting hints or many of the other tricks developers use these days so us poor gamers wouldn’t have to feel any frustration. Many puzzles are difficult but none are unreasonable, and they all share that “aha” moment when you solve them, meaning the solution is logical and satisfying, rather than arbitrary. Logical item interactions work or don’t work in a way the game explains. In short, this game is a heaven for those of us who miss the days where adventure games were more of a mental obstacle course.

The game has no dead ends (an unforgivable sin in my opinion). I was able to accidentally bypass a section of the game without acquiring an inventory item, so the game made sure I could get it in another place, without it feeling shoehorned in. There are no “uh, let’s just wait a bit before advancing, I think we may be missing something” or “let me just pick up this object while we’re moving to the next area” crutches that are sometimes present in order to prevent this - instead the game is just well-designed.
You CAN die (at some points, needlessly, I felt) but the game immediately rewinds time to before death, and I could see no ill effect, point-wise or achievement-wise, to this happening, so the game does reward experimentation and exploration.
I even forgive the inclusion of two mazes, seeing as the sections are short and make sense within the context of the story, and no mapping was required - just keep your right hand on the wall and you’ll be out of them in no time.

To balance this sparkling review, the only things I would change are:
- Add a pause feature. There are some (easy) timed sequences and sometimes real life intervenes in the middle of a play session.
- Lose the achievements and scoring system. While they’re mandatory new and old-school respectively, the achievements are minor spoilers and don’t really contribute much, and the points give you a progress bar that somewhat ruins the “wait, there’s more to be done” moment late in the game.

Other than those minor issues, the game is spotless. If you like challenging games with a compelling plot and functional characters, this is a great buy. I’ve played it through twice already and recommended it to some friends, and have yet to hear someone disappointed with it.


Time Played: 5-10 hours

Rating by zenkmander posted on Jul 7, 2012


Excellent (mostly)


Resonance renewed my interest in adventure games. The plot, characterization, setting, and atmosphere are all amazing. I’d be giving it 5 stars if not for the somewhat abrupt ending. The conclusion comes right when it feels like it’s really ramping up. Don’t get me wrong, there’s suspense all the way through, but in terms of overall story it felt like there was more to be told. Fingers crossed for a sequel!


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by emric posted on Dec 10, 2012


a modern, compelling, smart take on old-school adventuring


resonance delivers a compelling and smart sci-fi/thriller storytelling experience and also manages to hit that elusive sweet spot in adventure gaming where the puzzles are challenging and fun and also (mostly) seem like they fit naturally into the story. creator Vince Twelve clearly has the strongest of grasps on this genre of gaming. it’s a great fit to have this title under the Wadjet Eye umbrella. I suspect anyone who enjoyed Gemini Rue will find Resonance hits the mark for them too. most long-time adventure gamers probably enjoy the old-school graphics deal like i did, but i’d understand if not everyone appreciates the pixelated appeal… especially considering the locations here never lend themselves to standout art.


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by Dan123 posted on Aug 28, 2012


Has a nice vibration to it


Made me lose a night’s sleep and go to work in zombie mode the next morning. That should sum up my impression on this game. To be more clear, I found it quite interesting, well developed, nicely written and cleverly designed. OK, it might not win an origami Oscar for an original script but it has very well planted twists and turns.
The mood is nice throughout the game, mostly due to the well outlined characters. They all have different personalities which is great for fresh gasps of air.
A lot of not so ordinary ways of interacting between characters and between characters and the environment, perfectly matched soundtrack, nice animations and great voice acting make the attention to details a great contributor to the general atmosphere.
The game is long enough to keep you interested (I got a bit too involved as I could not stop until i finished it) and the puzzles are logical and fit pretty well into the story.
I recommend it as a great way to spend a white night.


Time Played: 5-10 hours

Rating by Seo86 posted on Mar 5, 2013


Rating by millenia posted on Dec 20, 2012


Rating by Oscar posted on Jul 6, 2012


Rating by Manuel posted on Nov 10, 2012


Page 1 of 5    1 2 3 >  Last ›