Syberia

Game Info Player Reviews Screenshots

Average Rating


Average based on 65 ratings




Rating by Houie posted on Jan 19, 2014 | edit | delete


Great story, great visuals, great voice acting, great puzzle integration, relatively easy puzzles


~16 hours

Great story, great visuals, great voice acting, great puzzle integration, relatively easy puzzles

I normally like games that are more puzzly, but this game’s story and immersion (fully integrating the puzzles too) really makes itself to be a great game.

Don’t let the game’s seemingly “normal” settings fool you, the adventuring in this game is top-notch and the strange automatons in the game keep it interesting.

The game is also family friendly, which is great also!


Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Rating by Lucien21 posted on May 27, 2012 | edit | delete


Classic game of Automatons, Mammoths and an epic train journey.


You are Kate Walker, lawyer, in search of Hans Voralberg in Syberia.

I credit this game with getting me back into adventure games after a gap in the early 00’s. It’s georgous graphics and haunting soundtrack drew me into the strange world of Automatons as we went from one great location to another.

Most of the locations revolve around trying to find ways to wind up your clockwork train and range from a university to a space port.

Unfortunatly, the georgous visuals are great to look at but lack interaction. There are very little hotspots in the game making the game seem empty. It is frustrating to run through 5 screen of lanscapes with nothing to do, hit a dead end and have to run all the way back.

Puzzles are, for the most part very simplistic with only one that stretches the grey matter (The Blue Helena puzzle).

The characters and story are pretty decent. There is some decent background info to be found on the Hans/Ann story as you go from place to place. You meet some decent characters along the way that will help or hinder your progress. Your mobile phone remains a link to Kate’s past and over the course of the game you start to wonder what the hell she was like back home as other than her mother all her other contacts are idiots. Her annoying arse of a boss, her fiance is a stuck up git and her best friend bonks her fiance after Kate is away for a couple of days. With friends like these i’d run off to Syberia as well.

Overall it is a pretty simple game with a decent story and georgous visuals. The ending felt more like a mid interval break than a true ending, but I can forgive it because they did make a sequel.


Time Played: Under 1 hour

Rating by Rennie posted on Apr 26, 2013 | edit | delete


Beautiful, memorable game i doubt i'll see the like of for a while to come


To begin, I totally disagree with Antrax’s review of the game, and although he/she agreed about the beauty of the game, to suggest there is no gameplay is to disregard everything that makes Syberia what it is, and why it is so immersive.

For a start, the “every object is just a key with one use” feeling about the games puzzles is actually just because the puzzles make mechanical sense. The challenge is working out how to use the many machines etc, and for me it was a joy to manipulate the controls of these beautiful Steampunk machines.

If the puzzling wasn’t like this, you’d have to be picking up hundreds of objects a la “Secret Files” or “Runaway”, and to be honest I find that frustrating. In this game, there are no ridiculous “Combine hairbrush with pole and jam to make hockey stick” or some rubbish like that, because to me, that is not the “Challenge” I am looking for.

The puzzle difficulty lets you continue the story at a reasonable pace, and i welcomed this. Sure, it might be too easy for some, and I must admit there were a couple of moments in the game when the pace slows down, and you just want to get back on the train again, but on the flipside, there are plenty of astoundingly beautiful and emotional parts of the game which would give any high budget animation or film a run for it’s money.

This game is so immersive, I can honestly say that when it was over, I genuinely felt as though I had been through an intriguing and emotional experience:

And to sum up that for me is why I love this game so much, I have never been emotionally pulled in to a game like this before, and I can only think of “The longest Journey” as a title which conjured up similar emotions.

The most beautifully surreal and emotional gaming world I have had the pleasure to explore


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by Antrax posted on Feb 26, 2013 | edit | delete


A barren game


Syberia takes a long time to complete. However, this is not due to being a long game. Instead, the game relies on padding to inflate the game length without adding any actual gameplay, which results in a sparse, barren journey through a beautiful game without anything much to do. It might’ve been an artistic choice, as that’s how I imagine Siberia to be, but it still makes for a pretty lousy game.

Everything in Syberia takes forever. Screen transitions often take 10 seconds of real time, not because the PC is weak but because there is no way to skip the meticulous “going up stairs” or “climbing down ladder” animations. They are well-made, but as the game involves a lot of backtracking, often forced, it might’ve been nice to be able to just skip to the next screen instead of seeing a young woman slowly ascend a staircase yet again.

The forced backtracking deserves a paragraph on its own. It is often necessary to talk to a person at one end of the playable area to randomly unlock something in the opposite end. There is no rhyme or reason to it - only after trying a code that doesn’t work does suddenly someone leave a door open, or only after talking to someone can you interact with something you knew you needed to interact with, before. The game railroads you completely, which again increases play time without adding any enjoyment.

The puzzles are almost non-existent. You use items only for their intended purpose, and about 80% of the puzzles are literally “use key on lock”. The game is filled with “automatons” and other sorts of mechanical devices. However, experimentation with these wondrous creations is actively discouraged by the protagonist - instead of letting you click buttons and flip levers to figure out what would happen, Kate just flatly states “this doesn’t seem to work” without any other feedback to the player. Often you discover you just need to find a missing part somewhere, use it on automaton, press button, puzzle solved.
The “that doesn’t seem to work” approach becomes even more problematic when you factor in the fact the game doesn’t allow examination of hotspots and they have no description. The cursor becomes highlighted, but you don’t really know whether it’s an exit or an object, and there’s no way to know what objects are except based on the graphics. Experimentation of any sort is simply non-existent.
Another padding method is the lack of a hotspot highlighter. Combined with multiple screens with absolutely nothing interactive in them, a lot of the play time is spent playing a game of “hotspot hunt” - not precisely pixel-hunting, but roughly the same amount of fun. After about an hour of playing I’ve started referring to a walk-through quite often, as it became apparent that whenever it’s not 100% obvious how to proceed, it means I’ve missed a hotspot or an area, and I really didn’t feel like spending a couple of minutes of real time trudging slowly between screens and sweeping my cursor around, looking for that telltale highlight.

To give an example just how bad the above issues are, I’m going to spoil a “puzzle”, if you can call it that: within a dense area, full with non-interactive stairs, ladders and crates, there is one particular ladder that’s not a hotspot. However, there is a small area on the ladder which IS a hotspot, which when clicked zooms on some old sign. If you remove the sign from the ladder, suddenly the ladder becomes a hotspot and you can climb it to a new area. Lesser minds might question this choice - might not it have been better to have the ladder as a hotspot and have Kate say “hey, I can’t climb this, the sign is in the way”? But look, the game is so full of whimsy and wonder! Automatons! Nice graphics! Surely only people who don’t appreciate these things care about such trivialities as “being able to figure out what impedes the heroine’s progress”.
Another example, for those who lauded how “realistic” Kate’s approach to obstacles is: early in the game, you need to find the Notary in an unfamiliar village. When I find myself in such a situation, I ask people “excuse me, where’s the Notary office?”. Not Kate. She has to walk through the village, click on doors eliciting the response “there’s no need to go down there” until you find the right one - which is not marked with a sign saying “Notary” or anything, though it IS distinct from the other doors in the village. This refusal to ask simple questions leads to many hurdles that simply would not exist in real life.
Oh, and at one point she (puzzle!) refuses to get her hands dirty and at another point (puzzle!) refuses to cross a 20cm puddle. And she’s afraid of birds apparently. And the birds never move. Total puzzle realism, not to mention the enjoyment derived from walking her through these challenges.
There, I think that’s all I had in my system.

Artificially padded, hotspot hunting, no puzzles to speak of. In case that’s not enough, it’s time to dissect the plot. Kate Walker is not a person. She has no personality of her own. She doesn’t express opinions, she doesn’t offer observations, she just reacts as blandly as possible. This is probably the only way to survive in her world, which is filled with caricatures, from her ridiculously micro-managing boss, who calls her more than once an hour to yell at her constantly, to the rectors of the university, who someone manage to hold their esteemed position despite having the mentality of toddlers. Every single character in the game has idiosyncrasies bordering on serious personality disorders, and they mostly exist just as ways to impede Kate’s progress.
The plot itself is basically Kate retracing the life and work of one noble retard - based on the ending I think she was supposed to be falling in love with his simple life and mechanical designs, but it’s hard to say as she never offers any commentary to suggest as such.

The game does some things right: the graphics are quite pretty, voice acting is okay and the Russian in the game is accurate instead of being gibberish. Gameplay-wise, you can’t die and you can’t get stuck, though the latter is forced using some awful, awful writing: “this train was designed to go with two specific objects in the trophy case, go fetch the objects which coincidentally you’re going to need later on”.

So, I give the game two stars: for pretty graphics, for technical stability (no crashes or other bugs, which is good because no autosave) and for no dead ends. But there is nothing beyond that - particularly, not a game.


Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Rating by MrChapeau posted on Mar 25, 2014 | edit | delete


Lifeless


In a word, that’s it. 

I did not like this game.  The world is full of nothing.  Unless there is a specific thing you have to do somewhere the each location has nothing in it.  It’s just a painting.  There’s nobody to talk to and the world does not exist off screen.

For such a large amount of work this must be the most inefficiently designed game ever made.

Beyond that, though, the characters were annoying and the whole game seemed like a trudge to something better at the next location, only it never got better.

There wasn’t even a proper pay-off at the end.

Meanwhile the gameplay did not come from satisfying puzzles (they were not) nor from interesting dialogue, but rather from the time-lengthening effect of incredibly dull running animations taking up 3/4 of the game.  If I hadn’t hoped for a better endgame then I wouldn’t have finished this at all.

No room for inductive reasoning, no player discovery, lots of linear handholding, and no intriguing world.  Any sense of intrigue is pummeled by pace-destroying backtracking. 

A complete waste of time.  Avoid.

Least favorite adventure game.


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by Jaremaing posted on Jun 18, 2012 | edit | delete


My favorite adventure-A beautiful experience from start to finish


I love everything about this game. Kate Walker is a likeable, strong heroine that never has to use violence or cruel trickery to get what she wants. While a clever adventure game always involves tricking somebody, she apologizes and makes good terms with the person later. The prerendered backdrops make for beautiful scenery. The story is great, the interface is simple, but able to get the job done, and pretty much everything else in this game makes you feel loved by the developers. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a true work of art.


Time Played: 10-20 hours

Rating by btague posted on Jan 14, 2013 | edit | delete


Did Everyone Even Play The Same Game?


First off, I have to say I am an avid adventure game fan. Been playing adventure games for years and always been a huge fan of the genre. I have played through so many countless adventures through the years. I have played through some memorable and some not so memorable games. This one falls in the later. I know this game gets all sorts of praise and is in the top 10 for a lot of adventure game sites, but I don’t know why it deserves that. This game is void of many of the elements that adventure gamers like most and why we are fans of the genre in the story and the character development.

First I do want to say the good about this game: It is very asthetically pleasing. It is so gorgeous and pretty to look at. It has great graphics and a simple point and click which any adventure gamer likes in a game.

After that, there isn’t as much praise to be had as all the reviewers of this game would have you believe. I have played through the game and am astounded as to why this game ranks so highly. I tried playing it multiple times, before finally deciding to fully play it through from beginning to end and give it a chance as I do every adventure game. I decided that maybe this game would pick up and get better as it goes along.

First off the game starts off real slow. You arrive at Vallendiline and you stay at a hotel. You are trying to get the owner of a factory of toy robots to sign the company over to you. The owner died, but appearantly there is a missing heir. You, Kate Walker, set out to find this missing heir to sign the factory over to you as a lawyer who represents your toy company. The heir is out of town though, in search of mammoths which he believes still exist. Your quest is to find him and along the way refuel your train through mechanical gears from these automan robots and learn more about Hans and his sister, Anna along the way. That is about the only depth of the plot. I thought there would be something secretive and extra, but that’s it. All you are trying to do is sign the toy company over, but you become interested in Hans who ran away. That is the whole storyline. No character development at all. They tried to with this awkward phone conversation thing, but it actually made it worse. The storyline isn’t really any substance at all and no character development. Not hardly any puzzles in this game either except for clicking on the screen and running from point A to point B a ton in this one.

All in all I don’t rate this as the worst adventure game I’ve ever played, but nowhere among one of the top ones. The story and character development really fall flat. I couldn’t connect with anyone and the dialogue wasn’t great either. I give it a 1.5, due to the great graphics and on the premise that this wasn’t totally god awful (I could play through the whole thing). I just don’t know why this game is considered a top 10 or even a top 50 adventure game. Would maybe make top 100, but not sure it deserves the praise it does. Going to play the second Syberia and see if you really have to play that one for this to be good, but it looks like this one is just very hyped up and not as good as some would have you believe.


Time Played: 5-10 hours

Rating by kingtiger posted on Jun 6, 2013 | edit | delete


boring story, I can’t say that I would play this game again


Time Played: Under 1 hour
Difficulty: Easy

Rating by Interplay posted on May 19, 2012 | edit | delete


Rating by Stuart posted on Jul 2, 2012 | edit | delete


Page 1 of 7    1 2 3 >  Last ›

Where To Buy

Syberia

Get it DRM-free at

Available at

Available at Big Fish

Get it at

Affiliate Links








{/exp:channel:entries}