• News
  • Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Adventure → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

Keybordz

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

The “Crappies” Awards

Total Posts: 3200

Joined 2007-01-04

PM

For some strange reason, I started playing “Leather Goddesses of Phobos 2.

It has to be THE WORST adventure game I’ve ever played - hence my “Crappie” award for worst adventure game I’ve played so far in 2014:

So - what’s your very WORST? Gotta be better than my game.

I enjoy playing adventure games on my Alienware M17 r4 and my Nintendo Switch OLED.

Total Posts: 127

Joined 2012-02-10

PM

The thing is, I’ve played a lot of really terrible amateur adventure games, but it feels unfair to kick them. I didn’t pay anything for them, and even the bad ones were labors of time and love.

I propose that any posts in this thread be limited to games we actually wasted money on, preferably published by a professional company. Kicking random hobbyists when they’re down is too easy.

So, once we’re restricted to major releases…

...my controversial choice is the first Legend of Kyrandia game, which introduced me to the idea of “arbitrary puzzles that exist to sell hintbooks and waste time.” And bear in mind that I was a Sierra fan, the kind who looked forward to getting the InterAction magazines, and so I was used to designer cruelty. But the Sierra games were often cruel with style and fun death scenes, while LoK was just boring and cruel. Pointless errands, pointless wandering.

I was pretty young when it came out, but I remember being disillusioned when I looked in the hintbook and said “WHAT? THAT’S REALLY THE ANSWER? ARE YOU STUPID?”