Aggie Awards

The Aggie Awards - The Best Adventure Games of 2014

Best Story: The Blackwell Epiphany

In The Blackwell Epiphany, Dave Gilbert had the unenviable task not only of telling a story worthy of wrapping up the beloved indie series, but also of tying up threads he’d established years earlier in the four preceding games. He ended up telling two stories in one: a mystery involving souls who are ripped apart before they can cross over, and a high-stakes send-off for the duo who have become like friends these past eight years, resolving questions about Rosa’s family history and Joey’s past in gratifying, permanent ways. The tears flowed, but with those tears came much-needed closure.

The Blackwell games have always focused on a reluctant spirit medium struggling to control her power, accompanied by a spectral sidekick who doesn’t have to take everything so seriously. In Epiphany, Gilbert puts a genius spin on his own convention: Rosa is now powerless to save the dead, while Joey is suddenly – ironically – in mortal danger. When the story hits a mini-climax halfway through, the mystery seems to be solved all too soon… and then the case goes even deeper, with Joey and Rosa directly in the crosshairs. This halfway point is when Epiphany’s story shifts from good to great; it’s when we realize that in Rosa and Joey’s final outing, Dave Gilbert’s giving us all he’s got.

But the driving plot isn’t necessarily what makes this story stand out. The strength lies in how every element – themes, characters, setting, mood – contribute to the overall arc, all of them guiding us toward The End. That ending may have been controversial, but it’s one Gilbert says he envisioned from the beginning. We were headed this way all along, we just didn’t know it yet. And when the credits rolled we felt, if not happy with the outcome, at least fulfilled. From a narrative standpoint, The Blackwell Epiphany is a finale done right, making it the obvious choice for this year’s Best Story award.


Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse

The Wolf Among Us

The Last Door

Valiant Hearts: The Great War

Readers’ Choice: Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure

More than fifteen years since the cliffhanger ending of Overseer, Tex finally returned and didn’t disappoint his many fans. Cleverly accounting for the missing years between installments, Tesla Effect once again delivered an ever-escalating sci-fi-comedy-noir yarn in which Tex awakens with a serious head wound and no recent memories. While investigating his conspiratorial attackers and his own troubled past, Tex stumbles across a catastrophic invention that is somehow entwined with tantalizing clues about his long-lost love. Better yet, player choices trigger one of five different bitter-to-sweet endings. Yep, sounds like another winning Tex Murphy tale, all right!


The Blackwell Epiphany

The Wolf Among Us

The Talos Principle

Danganronpa (series)

Next up: Best Writing – Comedy... the envelope, please!

Continued on the next page...

AD The Blackwell Epiphany can be purchased at:

Affiliate Links

Related Games

The Blackwell Epiphany

Platform(s): iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch, PC

Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch, Mac, PC, Playstation 4, Vita, Xbox One, Linux

The fifth adventure of George Stobbart and Nico Collard in the acclaimed series from Revolution.

The Wolf Among Us

Platform(s): Mac, PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360

An episodic adventure from Telltale based on the popular FABLES comic series.

Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure

Platform(s): PC

A new adventure in the acclaimed Tex Murphy series.

The Talos Principle

Platform(s): Mac, PC, Playstation 4, Linux

Sherlock Holmes: Crimes & Punishments

Platform(s): PC, PlayStation 3, Playstation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One

Eight different cases with increased player freedom in the latest adventure from Frogwares


Platform(s): iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch, Mac, PC, WiiU

Valiant Hearts: The Great War

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch, PC, PlayStation 3, Playstation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One

Set in WW1, Valiant Heart tells the story of five characters whose destinies are linked.

The Journey Down: Chapter Two

Platform(s): iPad, iPhone, Mac, PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Linux


Platform(s): Mac, PC

Detective Grimoire

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch, Mac, PC, Linux

J.U.L.I.A. Among the Stars

Platform(s): Mac, PC, Linux

Hadean Lands

Platform(s): iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch, Mac, PC, Linux

The Fall: Episode One

Platform(s): Mac, PC, Playstation 4, WiiU, Xbox One, Linux

About the Author
Other articles...

Following Freeware - October 2016 releases freeware feature

PC Mac Linux Freeware

The Eyes of Ara review

PC Mac